Building Services

50 Natoma Street, Folsom, CA 95630
916-461-6201
Hours: Monday-Friday: 8 a.m.-5 p.m.

Main Contacts
Scott Zangrando Chief Building Official szangrando@folsom.ca.us 916-461-6225
Van Leung Plan Check Engineer vleung@folsom.ca.us 916-461-6220
Michelle Toledo Building Plans Coordinator mltoledo@folsom.ca.us 916-461-6221
Tami Dominguez Building Technician II tdominguez@folsom.ca.us 916-461-6218
Layla Hubbard Building Technician II lhubbard@folsom.ca.us 916-461-6219
Mike Toledo Senior Building Inspector mtoledo@folsom.ca.us 916-461-6222
Lorenzo Aguilar Building Inspector II laguilar@folsom.ca.us 916-220-3037
Enrique Jimenez Building Inspector II ejimenez@folsom.ca.us 916-220-3037
Inspection Line N/A N/A 916-461-6230
Building Counter N/A buildingpermitcounter@folsom.ca.us 916-461-6201

 

Building Services plan-checks building permit plans for code compliance, issues permits for commercial and residential construction, conducts building inspections, and assists the public, owners, and contractors with building code questions and issues.

Important Reminders:
  • All pertinent information in the permit application must be filled out and the application must be signed in order to be processed.
  • Faxed applications will usually be processed the next business day. You will be notified when the application had been processed and the fees have been calculated (see acceptable projects below).
  • Permits are issued between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday (excluding holidays).
  • Incomplete plans and documents cannot be accepted.
2016 California Codes Became Effective January 1, 2017

Please note since the adoption of the 2010 California Residential Code on January 2011, all newly constructed one and two-family dwellings and townhouses are required to be equipped with an automatic fire sprinkler system in accordance with Section R313.

Contact Information:
Scott Zangrando, Chief Building Official
916-461-6225
buildingpermitcounter@folsom.ca.us

Acceptable Projects for Faxed Permits

Fax: 916-351-3363

  • Minor plumbing, mechanical, and electrical work.
  • Replacement of hot water heaters.
  • Replacement of wall furnaces or HVAC units of equal or less BTU ratings.
  • Re-roofing without adding additional weight to roof (i.e., replacing composition with concrete tile).
  • Repair or replace water and/or gas lines.
  • Termite repair showing estimate of work and specific items to be repaired.
Inspection requests:
  • Inspection Request Line number is 916-461-6230.
  • Inspections requested before 2 p.m. will be scheduled to occur on the following business day.
  • Plan check on new residential plans takes approximately 20 business days.
  • Over-the-Counter Permits can usually be issued for re-roofs, replacement heating and air conditioning units, replacement of water lines, gas lines, water heater replacements and electrical work including electrical service upgrades.
Notice: Are you doing exterior work on your property?

You may need an Architectural Design Review.