The library offers free access to the New York Times. If you are at the library, visit the NYT website and login or register to get unlimited access during your visit. If you are not in the library building, follow the link above, and you will get unlimited access for 72 hours. This access includes the NYT app for mobile devices as well. This resources is available thanks to funding provided by the State of California, administered by the California State Library.
Encyclopedia Britannica has been a trusted resource for students and researchers for 250 years. The online Britannica School edition is constantly updated and has easier-to-read entries for elementary and middle school students as well as explainer videos.
Alexander Street Video is a diverse collection of streaming Music, Dance, and Theatre content, covering hundreds of genres and a wide range of content types, from documentary to live performance. Leading content providers include the National Theatre, Royal Shakespeare Company, Qwest TV, Smithsonian, L.A. Theatre Works, Broadway On-Demand, and many more. Videos can be clipped and used in classroom instruction or presentations. (Grades 3-12).
CultureGrams provides concise cultural information on countries around the world (Grades 3-12).
Discoverer is a research tool for younger grades that provides selected content for novice researchers, especially elementary and middle school students and educators (Grades 3-9).
Single search research tool for middle and high school students aggregates of periodical (newspaper and magazine) and digital media (audio and video) content with editorial guidance for novice researchers (Grades 6+).
Research Companion provides information literacy tools and tutorials to help develop critical thinking skills, create citations, and understand research based writing and composition (Grades 8+).
TeachingBooks.net is a resource for students to learn about books and authors frequently read in schools. Watch videos of the authors talking about their writing and reading from their own books. (Grades K+)
SIRS Issue Researcher provides curriculum-aligned database of content organized by complex issues, ideally for middle and high school students and educators (Grades 6+).
Gale Interactive: Science is a virtual lab that gives students in middle and high school grades the ability to view and interact with 3D models of objects in the natural worlds from chemistry, earth science, biology, and anatomy. (Grades 6+)
National Geographic for Kids is well known for making big topics accessible to elementary age students. This archive of the magazine and eBooks brings nature, history, and world cultures to students. (Grades K+)
Environmental Studies in Context provides middle and High school students with comprehensive information on environmental issues and the people they impact.
(Grades 6+)
Archives Unbound provides thousands of historical photographs, documents, maps, official government documents, and more. It is a repository of primary sources for historical research. It is a good compliment to the digitized newspapers at the California Digital Newspaper Collection and U.S. Newspaper Project.
This website will help you study for the California Driver's License Exam. There are practice tests and official California DMV manuals.
Learn English for the U.S. citizenship exam using this free website and app from the Sacramento County Office of Education.
